Reviews

Reviews for The Rare Pearl

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!

By Karen Creamer on August 3, 2016

Format: Paperback

Get ready for a wild ride through the ocean to another realm. In this exciting book, The Rare Pearl, by Jennifer W. Smith, Harmony Parker gets pulled out of her everyday life and plunked down in the middle of another world. The opening scene sparks a dozen questions right away , as well as a little fear. But not too much, which is important to me as a reader. I like a little tension and mystery, but I don’t want to be terrorized. Harmony hits the ground running, experiencing a birth and a death almost as soon as she arrives. She also has a recurring dream that expands a bit more every time she has it, giving her some clues to a tragic event in her past.

Random (fun!) notes from the book:

The “Wicked cool!” (p20) resonated with the New Englander in me.
When the author talks about the meaning of Harmony’s name (p34), it made me want to look up the meaning of my own name. So I did: It means 'pure' :).
There is a character named Lynn (p34). I had to stop to take a picture of that passage and email it to my friend Lynn. :)
And this quote about the ocean air (p56): “One deep breath was all she needed before a sense of calm washed over her.” Me. That sums up the essence of me, right there in that quote.

You know that feeling when a great book ends and you feel a little lost? A pang of regret? Well, relax! This book is Book 1 of a series! Book 2 is The Forsaken Pearl , which will be out in September 2016. I can’t wait!

 

4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed Jennifer's last book

By Sandra McGee on July 14, 2016

Format: Paperback

I enjoyed Jennifer's last book: Flying Backwards so I picked up this one as well. It was a great summer read complete with a paranormal spin and some sizzling romance. The backdrop of the story from the old hotel to the places Harmony finds to search for the truth behind her mysterious past are well described and vivid. I am looking forward to her next book!

5.0 out of 5 stars Smith does a wonderful job creating another world that is both exciting and ...

By Stefanie Jolicoeur on June 10, 2016

Format: Paperback

After breaking into an old hotel (well known to us New Englanders) Harmony finds herself in a heap of trouble. Her first problem is figuring out how she was transported into an alternate realm where everything she knows is now different. The people, the places, all hint at something familiar, but this Dorothy is certainly not in Kansas anymore.

Ms. Smith does a wonderful job creating another world that is both exciting and scary making the reader wonder what they would do if they were thrust into Harmony’s shoes.

I found the characters interesting and engaging and at times, untrustworthy, leaving you wondering their true intentions for the traveler from another realm. Should Harmony trust the handsome strangers who vie for her attention? Are the people in charge truly interested in helping her?

As Harmony makes her way through the alternate realm on a quest to find the necessary items to get home, she learns secrets about herself and her family. We are left as Harmony finds herself the unsuspecting target of a new enemy and with much to figure out to reclaim her life.
I’m glad the series will continue with book 2 of the Broken Water series, The Forsaken Pearl. Can’t wait to read it!

5.0 out of 5 stars I was engrossed with the story from the moment I picked it up.

By Amazon Customer on May 11, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

A great adventure romance! The Rare Pearl is full of action, adventure, fantasy, and love. Harmony Parker is an excellent heroine created by author Jennifer Smith. I felt like it wasn’t just Harmony being transported to another world, I was being transported as the reader. Ms. Smith creates a very vivid and tangible picture of the setting and surroundings. I was engrossed with the story from the moment I picked it up. Looking forward to number 2!

4.0 out of 5 Exciting Story in a Lavish World

By MomLovesToys on March 31, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Prepare to be transported with Harmony Parker to an imaginative world created by Jennifer W. Smith. Harmony Parker is fascinated by an abandoned hotel in her small hometown and frequently explores its once ornate rooms and hallways. She discovers a mysterious satchel behind a wall on one of her trips. The contents of the satchel cause her to pass through a portal into another realm inhabited by another race. The new realm is geographically identical to her home, however the inhabitants have evolved quite differently than humans have. Jennifer W. Smith has ingeniously created a world of vivid characters, lush scenery, and a tale that is impossible to put down. Harmony must complete a quest with a small band of companions and return home to her world to try and stop the cause of the unrest in the peaceful coastal village in the new realm. Is the handsome diver helping her cause because he is intrigued by her beauty, or is he in it strictly for the rare pearl ring he demands in exchange? Whatever the reason, he and Harmony must battle a sea serpent, sirens, and a war-mongering chieftain before Harmony can return home. This is an action-packed story that will leave you satisfied but looking forward to the next installment of the Broken Water series.

5.0 out of 5 stars An easy read that is full of adventure

ByAuthor Jennifer Owen Davieson April 17, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

An easy read that is full of adventure, romance, and mystery. Jennifer develops a realm that mirrors our own geographically and Harmony the main character discovers the means to travel there after exploring the dilapidated Wentworth Hotel. I am looking forward to book 2.

Reviews for Flying Backwards:

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Having the ability to communicate and love one another

By Amazon Customer on May 8, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

The author has a born talent to write!!! Her design and ability shows. A quick short story about sisters, friends and finding out what really matters in life. Having the ability to communicate and love one another. It is a great adventure of an airline attendant, Nora and her ups and downs. It keeps you reading from cover to cover. I really enjoyed it, I know you will to. Thanks, Carol Jenkins

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, fun read!!

ByA mazon Customer on May 5, 2016

Format: Paperback

Flying backwards was a wonderful book! It was easy to read and I found myself relating to the main character, Nora. I couldn't wait to see where she was going to travel to next and who she was going to meet! I highly recommend this book to anyone looking to read a fun, romantic novel!

5.0 out of 5 stars This was a fun book.

By Sandra McGee on December 17, 2015

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

This was a fun book. I found myself drawn into it even though I do not typically read the genre. The travel and adventurous lifestyle were great and I found myself relating to a less than perfect character that was stumbling along, trying to find herself.

5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable storyline

By BTS on November 29, 2015

Format: Paperback

A fun, easy read with realistic characters and enjoyable storyline. I liked the authentic details of the international cities used as destinations in the book. It was also interesting learning about the flight attendant training. The book was well written. I look forward to reading more books from this author.

5.0 out of 5 stars Flying Backwards is a wonderful story about a woman taking charge of her life

By Diane Brown on October 8, 2015

Format: Paperback

Flying Backwards is a wonderful story about a woman taking charge of her life, taking changes. The characters are easy to relate to and the predicaments Eleanor gets into are fun to follow. Great, easy to read, feel good book!
This story is a sweet romantic adventure with lovely details of foreign cities. I highly recommend it!

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, Hard to Put Down

By MomLovesToys on August 31, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Flying Backwards follows the journey of a woman living a sheltered life in a small town. Stuck in a rut composed of a dead end relationship, a boring office job, and a family business she has little interest in, Eleanor Clark yearns for new experiences and adventures. Gathering all the courage she can muster she applies for a job as an international Flight Attendant. Jennifer W Smith's detailed description of the training Eleanor must go through is both intense and suspenseful. Throughout the book Ms. Smith takes Eleanor on an odyssey of self discovery as she fulfills her need to change her life. The colorful descriptions of the experiences Eleanor encounters as she explores european cities adds to the excitement of this truly captivating book. Things get really interesting (and spicy!) as Eleanor encounters romance and some tough choices. Flying Backwards is as thought-provoking as it is engaging as Eleanor struggles with the challenges of what it's like to figure out what one wants in life. Tough to put down, this book will thoroughly entertain you with Eleanor's adventures.

5.0 out of 5 stars Lovable characters, great read!

By Author Jennifer Owen Davieson August 29, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

I read this romance in less than a week, and I loved it. The main character Eleanor is a strong and determined lady who makes one decision, which changes her life completely with surprising twists and turns. The descriptions of the places she visits as a flight attendant are excellent, the characters believable, and the three men male love interests make it an enjoyable read. I will be checking out further books by Jennifer Smith.

 

FOLLOW ME

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon

© 2015 by Jennifer W Smith. Proudly created with Wix.com